Chocolate Coma Cake

Introducing the CCC: Chocolate Coma Cake! Also known as “Betty Crocker’s Fudge Lover’s Strawberry Truffle Cake!”

It truly is the chocolatey-est cake I’ve ever had! I made this bad boy for the first time 2 years ago for my husband’s birthday and it’s become my guilty pleasure!

Now if you’ve followed any of my food posts you’ll notice that I stray a lot from recipes, mostly because I can’t find the particular ingredients needed. Here is my adaptation of Betty Crocker’s recipe!

Here is what you’ll need:

  • 1 box of Betty Crocker chocolate cake mix. The recipe specifies SuperMost chocolate fudge cake mix, but I can’t always find it so I find myself using Devil’s Food instead and it comes out just as delicious!
  • Eggs, water and oil to make the cake according to the box.
  • 16 oz of semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1 1/3 cups heavy whipping cream
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 2 cups cut-up fresh strawberries

(I’ve never made the garnish, but the site has a recipe for it!)

First step is to make your cake according to the box directions. Mix, pour, bake, etc and once it’s ready set it aside to cool.

Now the fun part! Cut up the cake into small pieces, or in my case, grab a fork and mash it up! My husband wasn’t too happy when he saw me butchering this perfectly good cake:

IMG_0636

Then dump the broken pieces of cake in a big bowl!

IMG_0640

Now, in a separate bowl, dump in your 16 oz of chocolate chips.

IMG_0634

In a small pot, heat up the 1 1/3 cup of heavy whipping cream and 1/4 cup of butter. Let it all melt together until it starts to bubble.

IMG_0635

Once it’s boiling, pour the mixture on top of the chocolate chips:

IMG_0638

And start to mix it all together! It’ll look like this once it’s well blended:

IMG_0639

Measure 1 3/4 cups of the ganache mixture and pour it on top of your cake:

IMG_0641

Now mix it all together:

IMG_0642

Chop your strawberries up into small pieces:

IMG_0633

Now fold in the 2 cups of chopped strawberries:

IMG_0643

Mix it all together:

IMG_0644

Taste test that sucker because it’s chocolate, ganache and strawberry heaven!

Now we have to put the cake back together again!

I don’t own parchment or wax paper so I improvised and used foil paper, which I lined in my cake pan. I then scooped some of the mixed goodness in there and evenly pushed it into every nook and cranny.

IMG_0645

Once that’s done, cover it with more foil and put it in the fridge or freezer, deepening on how long you want to wait 🙂 It just needs to harden a little so that you can later assemble it.

You should have some cake left over to make another layer. Repeat that step again for the remainder of the cake.

Once it’s refrigerated long enough it’ll be nice and hard. Place it on your cake stand and dump a hefty spoonful of ganache!

IMG_0646

Spread the ganache around:

IMG_0648

Add on the other cake and place some ganache on top of it. If you have enough ganache you can frost the sides as well, but since I had to wait on the cake to harden, I ended up eating more ganache than I should have!

Top with your chopped strawberries and serve!

IMG_0649

Cut into it and admire the chocolatey/strawberry goodness!

IMG_0650

Bon Appétit!

One thought on “Chocolate Coma Cake

Leave a Reply

