Carrot soup for the soul!

I started craving carrots lately. Yummy, sweet, crunchy carrots, so when I stumbled upon a carrot soup recipe on Pinterest, I knew I had to make it! I made a few tweaks to this Simple Creamy Carrot Soup and it turned out absolutely delicious!

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 2 lbs of carrots
  • 1 yellow onion
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 25 oz of chicken broth (I used canned chicken broth, but if you have some homemade I’m sure it’d taste 10 times better!)
  • 3 slices of cooked turkey bacon
  • 1/2 cup of heavy cream (you can omit this if you’re looking for a healthier version, I only added it to make it creamier)
  • 1 tbs of olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp dry basil

IMG_1104

I really really wanted to use fresh ginger in this soup, but lo and behold my one piece of ginger decided to grow mold. Next time I make it I will add some fresh ginger in it and update the recipe! The ground ginger worked well this time around, giving it a spicy flavor!

Your first step is to wash, peel and chop the carrots.

Then chop your onion, no need to chop them too small since we’ll be putting them in the blender later on. Chop your garlic too and set it all aside.

IMG_1105

Now oil your pot or pan with your 1 tbs of olive oil. The ladies here at FourMomsforMoms recently had a little discussion on heating olive oil. Apparently some believe it to be unhealthy, I personally use it as my main oil in everything I cook. You can always substitute olive oil with coconut oil!

Add your carrots, onion and garlic to the pot. I then added the salt, pepper, ground ginger and cumin and dry basil and mixed it all up!

IMG_1106

IMG_1107

IMG_1108

Cover the pot and let it all cook! It should cook for about 10-15 minutes or until your carrots are tender.

IMG_1117

While you wait for your carrots to get tender, cook your three slices of turkey bacon in a skillet.

IMG_1118

You then transfer them to your blender. Add in some of the chicken broth and pulse! I had to do two batches in my blender. I used two cans of the chicken broth, but only 25 oz of it.

IMG_1116

Pour the pureed soup into a pot and turn the heat on low.

IMG_1114

I then added the 1/2 cup of heavy cream and my bacon slices, which I cut up into bite size pieces.

IMG_1113

IMG_1112

Mix it all together, serve and enjoy!

IMG_1111

This soup was absolutely delicious! I loved the little bits of bacon. They added crunch and flavor to the creamy carrot soup! The best part was that my 2 1/2 year old actually loved it too!

Bon Appétit!

One thought on “Carrot soup for the soul!

Leave a Reply

