Braised lamb and couscous!

I wasn’t sure what to call this recipe. It reminds me of something I’ve eaten in a Moroccan restaurant before. It smells and tastes absolutely delicious!

I got this recipe from Jayna over a year ago. I had to search through our old FB messages to find it. Thank goodness I did!

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • Lamb (I used two packs, about 6 pieces of lamb loin this time, but the first time I made it was with a big leg of lamb! It really doesn’t matter what piece of lamb you use!)
  • 1 can of diced tomatoes (I only used 2/3 of the can. Jayna’s recipe called for a fresh tomato chopped, but I didn’t have one on hand so I improvised.)
  • Chicken stock or broth (Pour in enough to surround the lamb, but not cover it.)
  • 2-3 carrots (chopped)
  • 1 onion (chopped)
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic (chopped)
  • Salt
  • 1/2 tbs Turmeric
  • 1/2 tbs Cumin
  • Pepper
  • Couscous (plain) to serve the lamb over

IMG_1084

The star of the show! I used two of these packs!

IMG_1094

IMG_1092

IMG_1093

Start by chopping your onion, garlic and carrots. At the same time, preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

IMG_1091

In a dutch oven, heat up some oil (I used olive oil). Add the onion and carrots to the dutch oven and let them sweat.

IMG_1087IMG_1090

After a few minutes, toss in the garlic. I then added the seasonings. Turmeric, Cumin, salt and pepper to taste. Mix it all together.

IMG_1089

Add in your tomatoes. Again, I used 2/3 of a can of petite diced tomatoes, but you can use a whole chopped tomato.

IMG_1088

Then add in your lamb:

IMG_1087

Flip them over one time to brown both sides and then add in your chicken broth or chicken stock. Remember to only surround the lamb. You don’t want your sauce to be too thin. Now transfer the pot to the oven.

Cook for about 45 minutes, turning the meat over every 15 minutes or so and checking on it to make sure it doesn’t overcook. If you’re cooking a leg of lamb you will have to cook it longer, for 1-2 hours, turning it every 30 minutes or so.

While that’s cooking, make your couscous according to the directions on the box. It usually involves boiling water and mixing in the couscous, very easy, shouldn’t take you more than 5 minutes!

I opened the oven after the first 15 minutes and my first thought was “holy s*** that smells good!” Seriously, this meal was absolutely delicious and an amazing accomplishment for a last minute dinner!

This is your finished meal:

IMG_1086

Serve it over couscous and enjoy!

IMG_1085

Bon Appétit!

Leave a Reply

