Tofu, spinach, chick pea and pumpkin coconut curry!

It’s not very often that I cook with tofu, but yesterday it became a pregnancy craving and if you know me, you know I always indulge in my pregnancy cravings 🙂

Since I don’t cook with tofu much, I don’t know many recipes. This is a recipe I’ve made before and since it was so good the first time around, I decided to make it again, but this time adding in some yummy Korean pumpkin!

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1 can of coconut milk
  • 1 package of tofu (I use extra firm)
  • 1 package of frozen chopped spinach (cook following the directions on the package and add once it’s cooked!)
  • 1 can of chick peas (drained)
  • 1 small pumpkin (I used what I call a Korean pumpkin, because I found it in a local Korean store. It’s small, about the size of a cantaloupe.)
  • 1 small red onion (chopped)
  • 1 garlic clove (chopped)
  • 1 tbs Curry powder
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • 1/2 Cumin

First off, cut your pumpkin in half and take the seeds out. Place it on a baking sheet in the oven. Bake at 350 degrees F for about 30-45 minutes. I didn’t take a picture of the pumpkin itself because I wasn’t sure I was going to use it in this recipe. Here’s what it looked like after baking:

IMG_9767

Then assemble your other ingredients:

IMG_9741

IMG_9742
IMG_9743

Chop your onion and garlic:

IMG_9744

In an oiled pan (I used olive oil), make the onions and garlic sweat! I added the seasonings to the sweating onion and garlic.

In the meantime, cut up your tofu. I had a little helper for this task!

IMG_9750

Add the cut up tofu to your onion and garlic:

IMG_9755

I like my tofu to be browned so I let it cook for about 5 minutes, tossing it several times.

Add the can of drained chick peas:

IMG_9757

Then add your coconut milk, the whole can!

IMG_9758

Toss in the cooked spinach:

IMG_9763

Stir everything together! At this point is when you can salt to taste. I also added a tad more curry powder to strengthen the curry flavor.

Check on your pumpkin! If it’s ready, take it out of the oven and cut out the flesh, scraping it off the inside of the skin!

Dump it in there and admire the pretty colors!

IMG_9768

Stir, stir, stir! And then serve!

IMG_9769

You can eat it as is or serve it over a bed of white rice!

Bon Appétit!

Leave a Reply

