Sausage and Lentil Soup

IMG_1882

I came up with this recipe in Korea.  Kelsey had invited me to her house, for a ‘post birth’ baby shower for her Husbands Commanders wife.  The sweet baby girl was already one month old, but this was a little get together for us to celebrate the new babe!  I hadn’t met Tiffany as yet and only knew one other spouse going to Kelsey’s house but I was excited to meet new people!  I offered to make a soup for Kelsey and she was going to bake fresh bread and make a yummy salad to go with the soup.  Now since I only really Knew Kelsey and wasn’t sure what the others would like, I decided to make something I thought Kelsey would love.   I knew one thing she loved was sausage, so I decided to make my lentil soup into a Sausage and Lentil Soup!  Best thing I ever did to it!

Thanks Kelsey 🙂 

IMG_1872

Ingredients

1 Cup green lentils

1/2 onion

1 green bell pepper

1 carrot

Italian Sausage (you can use sausage links and just remove the casing)

Low sodium chicken broth

Salt

Paprika

Chili powder

Ground Cumin

Ground Coriander

Tumeric powder

 4 cloves Fresh garlic

1/4 inch fresh ginger

Olive oil

1/4 cup fresh cilantro

Water

Method

The spices I used in this recipe are my go to spices and I love them, but by all means use what ever you love and make this your own!

IMG_1876

I own a spice tin, like most Indians, and it contains all the spices that I use on a daily basis.  I even combine the cumin and coriander as I almost always use them both together.

IMG_1873

IMG_1874

Chop the onion, pepper and carrot.

Heat a heavy based pot or deep saucepan on medium heat and add olive oil. (I love to use my dutch oven for this recipe)

Sautee the trio on medium heat until the veggies are nice and tender.

IMG_1877

Add the sausage and break it up into what ever size you prefer. Let the sausage brown with the veggies for a couple of minutes.

IMG_1878

Then add your lentils and seasonings, toss until everything is well coated with the spices.

IMG_1875

IMG_1879

IMG_1880

At this point, add a cup of chicken broth, minced garlic and chopped cilantro. Then add 4 cups of water. Allow the soup to come to a boil and then lower the temperature and cover. Allow to simmer for about an hour or until the lentils are tender. Be sure to taste your soup to see if you need to add any additional seasoning.  Also stir occasionally to avoid sticking.

IMG_1881

When your lentil soup is cooked it should have reduced and thickened up. At this point you can add more water depending on how thick, or soupy you like it.

I usually serve mine with a little brown rice and some crusty home made bread and my little Pumpkin loves it!

NOTE: I now make this with either a chicken or turkey sausage or ground chicken breast to make it healthier!

Enjoy! 🙂

Jayna

Leave a Reply

