Coconut curry chicken!

I can’t remember the last time I made this dish. This particular dish is a family recipe that I stole from my mom! When I first got married at 18, this was the only real homemade dish I knew how to make. My husband, who hates coconut, loved it. And then one day I made it for his two brothers and accidentally used cream of coconut instead of coconut milk. Needless to say I was teased about how my dinner tasted more like dessert. :/ This time I got the recipe right and I’m here to share it with you!

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • A pack of chicken thighs (I used frozen, skinless, boneless chicken thighs because our commissary doesn’t carry the fresh kind. You can also use chicken breast, drumsticks or whatever you prefer.)
  • 2 cans of coconut MILK (don’t make the same mistake I made and use cream!)
  • 1 3.5 oz package of Golden Curry sauce mix
  • 4 medium sized potatoes (peeled and chopped into cubes)
  • 3 carrots (peeled and chopped)
  • 1 onion (chopped)
  • 5-6 cloves of garlic (chopped)

IMG_1027

First step is to cook your chicken. I used a whole bag of frozen chicken thighs and had to cook them in two batches since they didn’t all fit in my pot. Brown them and make sure they’re thoroughly cooked. Remove them and cook the rest.

While that cooks you can start chopping your vegetables!

Then remove the chicken pieces and set them aside on a plate.

IMG_1036Now add your chopped onion and garlic and let them sweat!

IMG_1030

(Excuse my pot. My husband got me a cast iron dutch oven for Christmas and I’m still working out some technical difficulties I’ve been experiencing with it, like why everything seems to stick to it!)

Once they’ve sweat enough, dump your chicken back in there and mix it all together.

IMG_1037

Now add your two cans of coconut milk to the pot of chicken thighs. You’re gonna need to add water as well. What I like to do is fill each can up with water and dump it in the pot! That way I get all the leftover coconut milk from the can! Start by adding only one can of water. You can also add another can of coconut milk if you want it to be more coconut-y! I wish I had! Stir it all together.

Now dump in your chopped potatoes and carrots and again, stir it all together, making sure the potatoes and carrots are all covered with the coconut milk/water mixture! If not then add a little more water. You want everything to be covered so that it cooks thoroughly!

IMG_1029

IMG_1028

Cover your pot and let it simmer for about 20-30 minutes, checking on your potatoes and carrots from time to time. Carrots take longer to cook, so if your carrots are ready then you know your potatoes are too and you can begin the last step!

Do you smell that? That’s the delicious smell of coconut milk simmering away! My house now smells like coconut, better than any plug-in or candle on the market! 😉

Once everything is nice and cooked and all the coconut milk has been absorbed into your chicken, potatoes and carrots, add in your Golden Curry sauce mix, breaking off the pieces and placing them ! My mom always called this a “chocolate bar” because it does in fact look like a chocolate bar! 🙂

IMG_1033

IMG_1034

Mix it all together, making sure the sauce mix has completely melted, you don’t wanna taste a big chunk of curry sauce in your plate! Turn the heat off and let it thicken for a few minutes!

*I haven’t made this recipe in a while, but I noticed that it wasn’t coming out as thick as I’d like it to. I’ll try adding less water next time or maybe more of the curry mix. Now I remember why I used cream of coconut that one time! Hope you enjoy it!*

You can serve it on a bed of rice or enjoy it alone, it really is up to you!

IMG_1032

IMG_1031

Bon Appétit!

Leave a Reply

