Moules mariniere & pomme frites!

Tonight’s menu is inspired by my French heritage and my love for seafood!

We were browsing the aisles of the Korean supermarket today and stumbled upon these bad boys!

IMG_0974

For under $4 a pack we decided we’d have mussels for dinner! Now being a French girl at heart, the first recipe that came to mind was moules mariniere! I remember eating moules mariniere almost weekly as a child. I haven’t had them in years because I’ve never been brave enough to attempt to make them myself, but today I felt brave!

All I needed now was a bottle of white wine. Wine isn’t something we have on hand at home so I headed to the store for a decent bottle of white wine. I got some looks as I walked to my car, conveniently parked in the Stork Parking spot with only a bottle of white wine in hand. Awkward…

Here’s what I came home with. A $7 bottle of white wine, sauvignon blanc as the recipe recommended.

IMG_0967

The recipe in question is from French cook Julia Child. I adapted it a bit to my liking, but this recipe is pretty basic in general. I made the moules mariniere with some pomme frites, aka fries! Here’s what you need:

  • 3 lbs of mussels (I have no idea how many pounds I had, but I went with it!)
  • One cup of white wine (I ended up using a little more)
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped white onion
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped green onions
  • 2 finely chopped cloves of garlic
  • A small handful of finely chopped parsley
  • 1 cup of flour
  • 3 tbs of butter
  • Olive oil for your fries
  • 3 large russet potatoes

Now your first step is to clean those pesky little mussels. This is a step I didn’t envision when deciding to make this recipe. It’s tedious work. I stood over the kitchen sink for 30 minutes, scrubbing and picking at the mussels, but it was all well worth it!

Here are my mussels:

IMG_0973

I dumped them all in the sink and started to scrub off all the stuff that was on them. When cleaning mussels to have to remember to always discard the ones that are already open or cracked. This means they are dead and cooking dead shellfish is apparently a big no-no! I ended up tossing out quite a few. Once they’re all clean set them aside.

Now in a large bowl mix together the 1 cup of flour and about 4 cups of water. Whisk it good!

IMG_0972

Now add your clean mussels to the mix. This is so that all the sand and grit that is left in the mussels gets out. Soak them for about an hour or so. You will have to rinse them clean after the soaking period.

IMG_0975

In the meantime, let’s make those pomme frites!

Grab 3 large russet potatoes. You can make more or less. 3 was more than enough for my husband, son and I.

IMG_0968

Peel and clean them. Then cut them into big rectangular slices. Drizzle olive oil on a baking sheet and layer them on there!

IMG_0969

Now bake them for about 30-40 minutes. Shaking the sheet around so that the potato slices turn around during baking! You can also turn them each one by one for better baking!

Now that your pomme frites are baking, start chopping the veggies for your sauce!

IMG_0964

In a big pot, pour the 1 cup of white wine (I used 1 1/2 cups because I wanted to make sure I had enough sauce for all my mussels!). Add in the chopped veggies and 3 tbs of butter and let it simmer.

IMG_0965

Once the butter has melted and everything is simmering, add in your mussels!

IMG_0963

IMG_0962

Toss them with the sauce a little. Cover and cook for about 5 – 10 minutes, shaking the pot from time to time to make sure all the mussels are cooking properly. I ended up uncovering the lid and tossing the mussels around as well to make sure everything that was on the top was going on the bottom and vice versa!

Mussels open up when they are cooked. Here is what they looked like after a few minutes of cooking in the steam:

IMG_0960

And here they are ready to enjoy!

IMG_0959

Take out your pomme frites:

IMG_0961

Serve the mussels in a soup bowl in order to get the sauce in there. Pomme frites on the side and you’re ready for a French seafood feast!

Bon Appétit!

Leave a Reply

