Popular Wrap Carriers, and DIY Woven Wrap

The very first carrier I ever used with my son was a wrap carrier. The Sleepy Wrap
was my wrap of choice. You might not have heard of it, but it’s the exact same thing as the Moby Wrap. It has now been bought over by Boba and carries the name Boba Wrap. They’re all pretty much the same; long pieces of fabric that you tie together.

I chose it because I was looking for something that would be soft and comfortable for my newborn baby.

When I first got it out of the box I thought I was staring at a calculus problem! It made no sense whatsoever! I got on their website and watched their instructional video. Slowly I figured it out.

Don’t let the 6 feet of fabric scare you. It’s take a lot of crisscrossing, but it gets easier the second time around! I highly recommend you watch the instructional video and practice several times before putting baby in it. I also preferred to tie my wrap tightly at first and stretch it out before I put my son in it. It feels more secure when it’s tight and it’ll end up sagging after a couple hours of carrying your baby in it!

The important thing about wearing your baby is making sure that their bottoms are positioned properly. Carriers like the Bjorn and some Infantino carriers don’t have much butt support. Babies usually end up with a piece of fabric in between their crotch and their legs just dangle down. That’s bad for their spine and was one of my biggest concerns when shopping for baby carriers. The good thing about this wrap is that you can sit your baby in a “froggy” position that is both comfortable and safe!

132472_1741203287529_64951_o

My son in the Sleepy Wrap when he was only a few days old!

180800_108421695901105_6504667_n

In the Sleepy Wrap at the aquarium!

I really loved the Sleepy Wrap for my son’s first few months. I loved how soft and comfy it was for both my son and I. Once he started getting heavy, around his fourth month is when I made the switch to the Beco Gemini, a buckle carrier.

Like Tati mentioned, babies should always have proper support in your chosen carrier. Imagine the difference in comfort for yourself between hanging from a harness, or sitting in a hammock…. Ill take the hammock please!

As a rule of thumb, your child’s knees should be at level with their hips.

If they are dangling, it is not only bad for their joint development, but really uncomfortable!

My experience with a wrap carrier was very similar to Tati’s! I used Moby
which was a gift from a lovely friend. I loved it indoors, but since my daughter was an august baby, I found it to be very hot! I still liked the wrap style carrier so I went on the hunt for something slightly more breathable. I found that there is a variety of woven wrap carriers on the market, but DANG were they expensive! I wanted something with a similar texture and feel to the Aden and Anais blankets we loved so much, so I went onto trusty old amazon and ordered myself 5 yards of Cotton Gauze (5 yards worked for us, but order 6 if you are unsure on size, just to be safe).

I cut it in half lengthwise, (actually, started the cut and then ripped it on the grain) and came out with two woven wraps for just under $25! (I gifted one to a friend) I didn’t finish the edges, and didn’t have any extensive fraying problems, but you can do a simple hem it this bothers you 🙂 Because it has less stretch, you can get away with wearing your baby in it for much longer than jersey wrap carriers! I can still wear my 18 month old in my woven wrap.

Bean, only a few weeks old!

Bean, only a few weeks old!

We Loved both our homemade woven wrap, and our soft jersey Moby wrap! If you love the style, but hate the price, consider making your own!

Best of luck!

Sarah

Leave a Reply

