Quiche and Chai!

To all you breakfast lovers out there, here is a breakfast recipe that will knock your socks off. 

Quiche

IMG_1651I came up with this recipe when I was in Korea.  I wanted to make breakfast for my friends, but I wanted it to be something they could eat easily, would be toddler friendly, and in our house it had to be at least a little healthy.  Well this quiche recipe is all of that!  I served it with Chai.  You can find the recipe for my Chai by clicking on this link.  

Well, I started at 6am this morning to make sure we were able to have breakfast together.   I can never sleep after my husband leaves for PT in the morning.  But most of all if I can, I like to have something yummy and filling available to him when he gets back all hungry and rummaging through my kitchen for what to eat.  (Not to mention I prefer he doesn’t make his own eggs, it’s always a HUGE mess!) 

This recipe can also be made with just veggies and no meat. 

IMG_1635

IMG_1637Ingredients

Whole wheat pie shell

4 eggs

1 cup milk (I use 2%, but you can use what ever you like or have)

Shredded mild cheddar cheese

Sausage (I used turkey Kielbasa, but again, what ever you prefer)

1/4 onion

Small head broccoli (I generally prefer and highly recommend spinach for this, but I didn’t have any at the time.)

Salt

Pepper

Garlic powder

Paprika

Olive oil

Method

Pre-heat your oven to 375.

In a frying pan, heat about 2 teaspoons olive oil on medium heat.  Chop and add the sausage and onions. Add all seasonings to taste and sautee until browned.

IMG_1636Add broccoli, season with a bit more salt, and cook until broccoli is tender.  NOTE: After I did this step I realized that frozen broccoli would have worked better for this dish. It is already par-boiled so it cooks up much faster and you want a tender piece of broccoli instead of a chewy one.  I would personally do it over or stick to spinach for next time!

IMG_1638While your veggie and sausage mixture is cooking, beat the 4 eggs and 1 cup of milk together. I like to season my eggs as well with all the seasoning in this recipe. I find seasoning at each step makes for better tasting and flavorful food!

Now assemble your quiche.  This is my personal choice on how to do it, but by all means feel free to do it what ever way you like.

Add a sprinkling of cheese to the bottom of the quiche.

IMG_1640I didn’t put a measurement for the cheese because I don’t use a lot. If you season your sausage and veggies perfectly, you won’t need a whole lot of cheese to make this a yummy dish.

Add your veggie mixture.

IMG_1641Then pour your wet ingredients over the top.  Lastly sprinkle more cheese on top.  I use about a half a cup of cheese total.

IMG_1642Bake for about 30 minutes or until your quiche has set.  When you remove it from the oven, allow it to cool for about 10 minutes so it has some time to really set properly.

IMG_1658I like to serve my quiche with a nice hot cup of Chai (Indian spiced tea) on a chilly, rainy day!

IMG_1657

Hope you enjoy this breakfast as much as we do!!!

Jayna

One thought on “Quiche and Chai!

Leave a Reply

