*Tie Dye Egg* Toddler Friendly Easter Wall Art

DSC_0499

As my daughter gets older, I find myself getting more and more into the festive spirit as holidays approach. Last week I began rummaging through our things looking for some easter decorations to “Spring up” the place. I realized that besides a bunny figurine and a ceramic gnome, we really don’t have anything springy! When we get closer to easter, we will be dying eggs of course, but its too soon to be doing that! So last night I went searching through my garage to see what I could come up with. I knew that I wanted a project that Little Bean could play a big part in. She has been so restless since her Dad went on TDY, and I knew she wasn’t about to give me enough quiet time to complete a project on my own. Besides that, I really wanted her to be able to look at something on display in our home, and remember making it!

so here was my criteria:

  • It needed to be something that fit in with our existing decor. Something that will add to what we have, instead of competing with it
  • It had to be cheap or free
  • It had to be child friendly
  • It had to be something that I would want to bring out every year

Easy peasy right? actually yes! In my garage search I found an old 1×6 piece of scrap lumber. Perfect! This project could easily be completed with a canvas, piece of card stock, cardboard, really anything you have on hand!

Heres what you will need for this project:

  1. A base. (wood, canvas, card stock, etc)
  2. Masking tape
  3. Exacto blade/ utility knife
  4. Paints! (we used acrylics, you can use whatever you have on hand)
  5. Paint brushes or toddler fingers 🙂
  6. A drop cloth or newspapers  to protect your surface (if it requires protecting)
Our plank of wood, and masking tape of choice. Toddler eating cake, optional :)

Our plank of wood, and masking tape of choice. Toddler eating cake, optional 🙂

First, tape off your entire work surface. You can use painters tape, masking tape, contact paper, whatever you have.

all taped up!

all taped up!

Next sketch your simple design. We went with easter eggs. Keep it fairly simple, you don’t want little details coming undone while you are painting! of course if you have older kids, or are working on this project without the help of a little, make it as fancy as you like

our "egg design"

our “egg design”

Carefully trace the design with your exacto blade and peel out the inner design, revealing the base underneath.

This is the fun part, lay out your drop cloth, unfinished project, a paint pallet (we used the lid to a styrofoam cooler, you could use anything) your brushes, and a variety of colors that match your decor.

All set up! You can see where I peeled away our eggs

All set up!
You can see where I peeled away our eggs

Let your little go crazy!

Starting to paint!

Starting to paint!

Mixing colors is fun :)

Mixing colors is fun 🙂

DSC_0487

Take a milk break on your dog, if you must

Look at those colors! Love it!!

Look at those colors! Love it!!

After Bean was done and had moved on to her play house, I did a little paint splattering myself. Adding a little water to the color of your choice and “throwing” the paint at the board will give you a speckled egg effect! I did some in white, and some in bright orange. (its also fairly therapeutic…)

oooooh

oooooh

Wait a bit for it to dry, and peel off the masking tape to reveal your masterpiece! Don’t forget to sign your work! Ours reads “Mommy and Ellie, Easter 2013” in white paint pen.

how cool is that?!

how cool is that?!

DSC_0513 DSC_0501 DSC_0500 DSC_0499 DSC_0498 DSC_0497

Give yourself a pat on the back, and reward yourself with an orange slice... life is good!

Give yourself a pat on the back, and reward yourself with an orange slice… life is good!

I really love how this turned out! We will definitely be doing these types of projects more often! What kinds of designs can you come up with using this technique? I think we will try my girl’s silhouette on a canvas next! Ill be sure to post the tutorial!

Best of luck, and Happy Easter!

Sarah

One thought on “*Tie Dye Egg* Toddler Friendly Easter Wall Art

Leave a Reply

