Chick pea surprise – a “healthier” cookie cake!

I found this recipe on Pinterest (again!) and I’ve been hooked ever since!

We’ve since then dubbed it “chick pea surprise!” You see, the unusual and somewhat healthy thing about this recipe is that it uses chick peas as its base. My husband isn’t a big fan of it because of that. He calls it a hummus dessert. That just means more for Abe and I!

*When we say it’s “healthy” we’re comparing it to other cookie cakes. It contains 1 1/2 cups of sugar and 1-1 1/2 cups of chocolate chips. Please consume in moderation. If you’re looking for something “healthier” then check out the sugar-free version of this recipe from Chocolate Covered Katie!

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 2 cans of chick peas (garbanzo beans) drained
  • 1 cup of plain oatmeal
  • 3 tbs of oil (canola, corn, vegetable)
  • 1/2 tsp of baking soda
  • 2 tsp of baking soda
  • 1 1/2 cups of brown sugar
  • 1 – 1 1/2 cups of chocolate chips (depending on your love for chocolate!)
  • 1/4 cup apple sauce (I use the whole small pack as seen in the picture below)
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

IMG_0924

IMG_0923

The first thing you’ll need to do is puree those chick peas. The original recipe calls for you to add all the ingredients (except for the chocolate chips) into a food processor and letting it all mix. For some reason I still haven’t bit the bullet and bought myself a big food processor so I’m left making this the slow way. I slowly add the chick peas, some oil or apple sauce to make it wet, and then pulse the food processor until the chick peas are well pureed.

IMG_0925

This is my end result:

IMG_0926

This is what my chick peas looked like. As you can see there are still big chunks of chick peas in there. If you’re using a big food processor you won’t have those big chunks. And if you’re using a big food processor you really only have two steps. Blending everything together and then adding the chocolate chips. Here are my steps:

Add in the oatmeal:

IMG_0927

Add in the brown sugar:

IMG_0928

Mix, mix, mix!

Then add in the chocolate chips!

IMG_0929

The original recipe called for only 1 cup of chocolate chips, but I love ooey gooey melted chocolate so I added 1/2 cup.

Spray a cake pan and then add in the batter. It should be pretty thick.

IMG_0930

Cook it at 350 degree F for about 30-40 minutes.

IMG_0938

My little helper added more chocolate chips to the top! 🙂 He knows me all too well!

I like my chick pea surprise to be somewhat raw in the middle. I’m the same with any chocolate chip dessert. The good thing about this is that there’s no eggs in it, so eating it semi raw is completely safe!

IMG_0939

A slice of chick pea surprise! So good and the fact that it’s made with chick peas makes me feel like I’m being healthy when I eat it! 🙂 Pour yourself a big glass of milk and eat it while it’s hot!

IMG_0937

IMG_0936

Share with your little helper and enjoy!

Bon Appétit!

8 thoughts on “Chick pea surprise – a “healthier” cookie cake!

  1. This is a HORRIBLE recipe to give to your kids. The benefits of the chickpeas are undone by the 1.5 cups of sugar AND the 1-1.5 cups of chocolate chips. There is more sugar than oatmeal in this too.

    • the recipe is similar in sweetness to a regular chocolate chip cookie recipe, while substituting the flour, oil and eggs for chickpeas. It DEFINITELY has sugar, and chocolate, but both of those things can easily be cut back according to your tastes! If you wouldn’t allow your children a cookie, then yes, this is probably not the recipe for your family. If the idea still appeals to you, you could experiment with substituting in some honey and dried fruit! Thanks for the feedback, and thanks for visiting 🙂

      • It is misleading to associate the word “healthy” with that recipe. I just say that because I have encountered parents touting this recipe as healthy and it’s not. It’s a treat. It might be a helpful idea to alert parents about the sugar and that they can consider decreasing the amount called for in the recipe.

  2. I do agree it has lots of sugar but it is defiantly a healthier choice than a regular cookie. Sometimes our kids deserve a little treat so why not! This is a great substitution and far from horrible. I am not a crazy health freak, but my 4 kids eat a well balanced diet and I do try to limit their sugar in take but a cookie now and again is NOT going to hurt them especially if it is a recipe like this one! I for one WILL make this and feed it to my kids, as horrible as that sounds! I will sleep knowing that they ate healthy all day, had plenty of exercise and had these cookies as a special treat for doing whatever they deserved a treat for! Thanks for sharing this recipe, ignore the banter!

  3. I was wondering would this work as a cookie recipe? My daughter is 15 month old and has had a bad reaction to eggs almonds & nutmeg so far. Waiting to get in to the allergist to see if it’s going to be the lifetime kinda allergies. Its a year long wait to even get call back for an appointment. so I’m trying to compile some yummy alternative recipes. It’s so hard to not baking with eggs. Also wow some lady’s are sure uppity as to the content of sugar in the recipe. It’s kinda a no brainier that you can tweek the amount of sugar in a recipe. I’ve found other recipes for chick pea cookies but they all call for peanut butter I kinda don’t want to test if she has a peanut allergy.
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

