Butter chicken goodness!

Butter chicken is another of our favorite recipes in this house!

I found it on Pinterest, of course! Pinterest has become like a big ol’ cookbook for me! Here’s the original recipe!

It goes deliciously well over rice or with naan and it’s so easy to make that I’m sure it’ll become a favorite of yours too!

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • A pack of chicken breast (5-6 breasts)
  • 14.5 oz can of tomato sauce
  • 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes
  • One small jug of half-and-half, cream or some plain yoghurt (I use half-and-half instead of cream to cut calories. I’ve also substituted with some plain yoghurt to make it healthier or use half yoghurt and half half-and-half. It really is up to you. In this recipe, I used 3/4 of a jug of half-and-half)
  • One whole white onion
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic
  • Small bunch of chopped cilantro
  • Ground Coriander seeds – about 1 tbs
  • Ground ginger – 1/2 tsp
  • Turmeric – 1 tbs
  • Ground cumin – 1 tbs
  • Ground cloves – 1/2 tsp
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Garam Masala – 1 tbs
  • The juice of one lemon
  • 1 tbs of butter

The spices:

IMG_0914

What you’ll need for the sauce:

IMG_0915

If you’ve read my shawarma recipe, you’ll notice that I use a lot of the same spices for both. Both original recipes called for cardamon, but since I don’t have any on hand, I always make my own adaptation of it with ground coriander seeds, ground ginger, turmeric, ground cloves, and garam masala. If you have cardamon on hand I suggest going to the linked recipe and following their spice recipe!

The first step is to cut your chicken. I love using scissors for this. Cut the chicken breast into small bite size pieces (again, much like in the shawarma recipe).

IMG_0913

Cover the chicken with all the spices and the juice of the lemon. Mix it all together, making sure every piece of chicken is covered in spices!

IMG_0912

I highly recommend letting this marinate over night. I don’t always do it, but it tastes a lot better when the chicken has really absorbed all the flavors.

Chop your garlic and your onion. Add the tbs of butter to a heated pan. I like to think this is where this recipe got its name 🙂

Once the butter has melted, add the garlic. Sautee it a few minutes and then add your onion. I used a red onion today because it’s all I had on hand. You can really use any other you like best.

IMG_0911

IMG_0910

Once your garlic and onion have sweated a little, add the chicken chunks.

IMG_0908

Cook it thoroughly.

IMG_0909

Once it’s cooked, add your tomato sauce to it. Stir it all together.

IMG_0907

Then add your diced tomatoes in and stir again.

IMG_0906

Now cover you pan and let it cook for about 30 minutes.

Once the 30 minutes is over, turn the heat off and add in your half-and-half.

IMG_0905

I added 3/4 of the jug. Mix it all together so that it becomes a nice orange color! Now it’s ready. Garnish with chopped cilantro, serve and enjoy!

IMG_0904

Bon Appetit!

2 thoughts on “Butter chicken goodness!

Leave a Reply

