My Obsession: The Perfect Spinach Salad

The sun came out in Germany this week. It’s a big deal. We have been playing on our patio and in our back yard everyday and even managed to get in two hours of park time. Yes, that is the extent of fun we’ve had around here lately. I’ve had two sick boys ever since last Friday night when we decided to leave them with a real live babysitter for the first time ever (not family). We came home to find the lovely gal covered with sweet baby puke, bless her heart. Obviously, we will have to start our search for childcare over…I liked her, too. Thanks boys.

Anyway, the sun has delighted us and brought temperatures in the 50s.

Hallelujah.

That is shorts and sweatshirt weather if you are my two and a half year old who has just just started dressing himself (he only wore that outfit on the patio for a couple minutes, no need for excitement).

The sun has just made me so happy. I’m ready to lay to rest my hearty soup repertoire (until next fall) and start with the fresh and light spring/summertime meals. Here is a little description and picture of what I want to eat everyday, really, everyday (well…until next fall).

My Perfect Spinach Salad Ingredients

  • fresh spinach
  • shredded chicken
  • dried cranberries
  • honey roasted pecans
  • cheddar cheese- shredded
  • apple – chopped
  • croutons
  • juice of a lime
  • fresh cilantro
  • black pepper
  • Newman’s Own: Olive Oil and Vinegar dressing
  • plain Greek yoghurt

Use a big bowl because fresh spinach takes up a lot of space and you will want to eat a lot of this. Start with your spinach and then add all of your toppings (be liberal and make it delicious). I prefer eating Gala or Granny Smith apples. We have rotisserie chicken on hand ever since we got a sweet new grill. I use the chicken throughout the week in different ways. It is perfect for this salad but it doesn’t have to have chicken either. Squeeze the lime over  it all and add a bunch of chopped cilantro, these are the two ingredients that can’t be missed. The dressing goes on last with a big spoon full of yoghurt. I used to use ranch for a little creamy touch but alas, we discovered the perfection of Greek yoghurt and we have since had our fridge stocked with it at all times.

DSC_0250

DSC_0261

I’m not claiming this is anything complicated or earth shattering and definitely not claiming it’s low fat. I eat salads because I love them and that’s it. I am claiming that if you make this salad for yourself, you WILL make it another time after that. At least, I hope so.

Leave a Reply

