Carrot cake!

I was never a big fan of carrot cake until I found this recipe! The recipe boasted it to be “The Best Carrot Cake Recipe Ever!” I totally agree! Topped with some really fattening cream cheese frosting, this cake isn’t for those watching their figure! Don’t let the ‘carrot’ in the cake fool you, there really isn’t anything healthy about this cake, especially topped and covered with frosting!

The first time I made this cake was for Jayna’s husband’s 30th birthday! It’s that cake that accompanied her delicious seafood feast! It then sparked a little bit of competition amongst Kelsey’s husband and I! He ended up baking a carrot cake for his son’s 2nd birthday a few weeks later! We still don’t know who won the whole carrot cake challenge (a hum… me!) Maybe he can share his recipe with us and we’ll find out just whose is best once and for all! ;)

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1 lb of carrots (peeled)
  • 2 1/4 cups of flour
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 3/4 brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 4 extra large eggs
  • 1 cup canola oil
  • 1/2 buttermilk (I used milk because I didn’t have any buttermilk on hand)
  • 1/2 cup crushed pineapple (drained) (I used a small can of sliced pineapples that I drained and put through the food processor. The whole can amounted out to 1/2 cup)
  • 1 cup chopped pecans (I omitted this since I’m making it for a playgroup and wasn’t sure if anyone had any nut allergies.)
  • 1 cup golden raisins (I’ve never made it with raisins because I’ve never had them on hand, but I’m sure they make a great addition to the cake!)
  • 1 batch of cream cheese frosting (I will add the ingredient list and recipe at the bottom!)

First thing to do is peel and chop up your carrots.

IMG_9485

I then threw them in my tiny little food processor. It took about 5 times to get them all done, but if you’ve got a big food processor it can probably be done in just one step! I then threw my pineapple slices in there too, but if you’re using crushed pineapples you can just skip this step!

IMG_9487

IMG_9489

Next step is to mix your flour, baking soda, baking powder and your seasonings together in a big bowl.

IMG_9492

In a separate bowl, mix together your eggs, oil, milk, vanilla extract, brown sugar, white sugar and crushed pineapple.

IMG_9493

Then add your wet ingredients to your dry ingredients! Mix it good! Now dump in your carrots! Mix it all together.

IMG_9495

I’ll admit that this isn’t the most appetizing of pictures :/ but I swear the end result will be delicious!

Pour your batter into two 9″ round baking pans, sprayed to make sure the cake doesn’t stick!

Bake at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes or until your knife comes out clean!

Let them cool! In the meantime, start working on your cream cheese frosting!

Here’s what you’ll need for that:

  • 2 – 8oz packs of cream cheese (room temperature)
  • 1 cup of butter or margarine (room temperature)
  • 1 cup of powdered sugar
  • 1 tbs of vanilla extract

Carrot cake is delicious on its own, but cream cheese frosting makes it so much better!

Dump your cream cheese and butter in a bowl and start mixing it! I used a hand-held mixer for this! Add the 1 tbs of vanilla extract. Once it’s well blended start adding in the cup of powdered sugar. You can use more or less to your liking. I don’t like my cream cheese frosting to be too sweet or it just takes away from the cream cheese flavor!

IMG_9507

I added my second stick of butter after mixing this all together!

Once it’s all blended together, give it a taste! This is just a perk of being the cake baker! :)

IMG_9515

Start by frosting the top of your first cake. Make it a pretty thick layer since it’ll be the middle layer! Place your second cake on top of that! (You may have to shave the top of your cake to make it somewhat even. I stink at doing this, but I still cut a little off the top to even it out. I think I do this more for the extra little pieces of cake I get out of it than anything else! I do need to taste it before I make others eat it!)

IMG_9516

Once your cake is layered, start frosting the top and the sides. The easiest way to do this is to scoop a big spoonful of frosting on top of the cake and spreading it around the top and around the sides.

IMG_9519

I’m no cake froster. I love baking, but my cakes don’t always come out looking as good as they taste! My one cake masterpiece was for my son’s 1st birthday, that took hours of work!

382702_2542465278578_367353680_n

Since then I’m happy as long as the whole cake is covered in frosting!

So here’s my carrot cake, frosted all around!

IMG_9520

And here is a picture of a slice of cake (this is the last slice that was left after playgroup so it’s not the prettiest of slices, but it shows the pretty orange carrot cake and yummy cream cheese frosting!):

IMG_9532

Leave a Reply

